Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif , Prime Minister of Pakistan


Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif is 23rd Prime Minister of Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif son of (late) Mian Muhammad Sharif belongs to an eminent business family. He is a graduate of Government College, Lahore and has had a distinguished career in practical politics that spans over four decades. His career in public service began as President, Lahore Chamber of Commerce & Industry in 1985; whereafter he joined active politics following his elder brother Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif. He was first elected to Punjab Assembly in 1988. This term ended prematurely in 1990 when the Assembly was dissolved. Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif was elected to Pakistan’s National Assembly during 1990-93, and then to Punjab Assembly in 1993 when he served as Leader of the Opposition till 1996. He became Member of Punjab Assembly for the third time in 1997 and was also elected as Chief Minister. The tenure of this Assembly was cut short in 1999 following a military coup, when his government, along with PML-N government at the centre were toppled. He was imprisoned and later sent into forced exile. Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif played a leading role in the restoration of democracy in Pakistan and was elected unopposed as Member Punjab Assembly for the fourth term in 2008, also serving as Punjab’s Chief Minister for the second time from June 8, 2008 to March 26, 2013. In the general elections of May 2013, his party PML-N swept into power in Punjab with a thumping mandate. He won three Provincial Assembly seats (PP-159, PP-161 & PP-247) and one National Assembly seat (NA-129); however, he opted to retain PP-159. Subsequently, he was elected as Chief Minister Punjab for the record third time. He is a dynamic and visionary political leader best known for his strong and efficient administration. He is respected across the globe for his ‘Can Do’ attitude. His brother, Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif served as the Prime Minister of Pakistan and his son, Mr Hamza Shahbaz Sharif is a member of the National Assembly.

Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif

Prime Minister of Pakistan